NASCAR & Auto Racing

Jesse Dutilly wins super late model feature at Desoto Speedway

BRADENTON -- Jesse Dutilly, who won multiple super late model races last year at Desoto Speedway, took the lead on a restart just prior to the halfway point and drove off to the victory in the Sunoco Challenge Series' Remembering Butch Lindley 115.

Lindley was a former NASCAR competitor who was severely injured in an accident in an All-Pro Series Race at Desoto Speedway in 1985.

Dutilly, a Bradenton resident, moved into second on lap 12 and used the outside line on a Lap 52 restart to take the lead from Joe Winchell. After seeing one big lead erased by a caution, he steadily pulled away over the final 47 caution-free laps.

"The car was just awesome tonight," Dutilly said in victory lane. "We couldn't be more excited."

In other action Saturday, Colin Allman won the Desoto/Auburndale Sportsman Series' first feature at Desoto Speedway this season. Jeff Firestine led from green to checker on his way to the win in the 25-lap street stock feature; Kenny Gibson held off a late charge from Carl Thompson to win the 25-lap bomber feature; and Blaine Baer took the victory in the 25-lap pure stock feature.

The next race card at Desoto Speedway is scheduled for May 7, headlined by twin 50-lap features for the open wheel modifieds.

Desoto Speedway

April 23 results

Super Late Model

1. Jessie Dutilly

2. Joe Boyd

3. Joe Winchell

4. Johnathan Guy

5. Devon McLeod

6. Dylan Bigley

7. Michael Atwell

8. Anthony Sergi

9. D.J. Hoezle

10. Paul White

11. Sean Lamaster

12. John Coffman

13. Tyler Scoffield

14. Richie Anderson

15. Mike Franklin


1. Colin Allman

2. Patrick Thomas

3. Brooke Storer

4. Roger Welch

5. Robert Kuhn

6. Tim Sozio

7. Josh Borem

8. Joey Sims

9. Earl Beckner

10. Rick Reed

11. Mike Kerrivan

12. Timothy Todd

13. Jeff Firestine

14. Mike Smith

15. Jason Rendell

16. George Gorham

Street Stock

1. Jeff Firestine

2. Danny Caylor

3. Travis Barfield

4. Ander Jackson

5. Kenny Gibson

6. Matt McCreary

7. Bobby Huffstutler

8. Bobby Diester

9. Donnie Powers

10. Claudio Reyes

11. Garrett Thompson

12. Scott McKay

13. Ted Head

14. Brandon Duchscher

15. Jarrett Cornell

16, Scott Finch

17. Jimmy Frazer

18. Kyle Best

19. Todd Brown

Pure Stock

1. Blaine Baer

2. Ryan Meiser

3. Sherry Best

4. Roger Dufrense

5. Bill Osborne

6. Aaron Holmes

7. Jeff Gustafson

8. Josh Todd

9. Logan Leonard

10. Jimmie Best


1. Kenny Gibson

2. Carl Thompson

3. Bill Osborne

4. Zach Briggs

5. Jamie Castleberry

6. Adam Briggs