All About the Children

Manatee County ends with 7 National Merit scholarship winners

Manatee County School District
Manatee County School District

In the last batch of National Merit announcements, one more Manatee County student will receive one of the prestigious scholarships, bringing this year’s total to seven students.

Chris Korda, a recent Manatee High School graduate, was announced as one of the college-sponsored National Merit Scholarship winners on Monday. Korda will attend University of Central Florida and plans to study electrical engineering, according to the National Merit release.

Corbin Wood, a Manatee High graduate, was a corporate-sponsored National Merit scholarship winner and was announced as a winner in April.

In May, general National Merit Scholarship winners were released and those winners included:

  • Chris Lehman of Manatee High School
  • Hannah Sage of Saint Stephen's Episcopal School
  • Hannah Figueras of Braden River High School
  • Sierra VanSuch of Out-of-Door Academy
  • Joseph Class of Saint Stephen's Episcopal School

More than 1.5 million high school students entered the National Merit Scholarship competition when they took the 2014 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as juniors. The 16,000 semifinalists announced in fall 2015 represent less than 1 percent of the nation's seniors.

Almost a dozen Manatee County students were named finalists in the fall.

Meghin Delaney: 941-745-7081, @MeghinDelaney