All About the Children

13 Ringling students honored at trustee scholar award ceremony

Thirteen Ringling College of Art and Design students were recently celebrated during the 22nd annual Trustee Scholar Awards.

Students are honored in each academic major as well as student life. This year’s awards theme highlights the work of Ringling College students, graduates, faculty, staff and supporters and their ongoing efforts in establishing the region as a ‘Capitol of Creativity’ by consistently pushing the envelope of creative innovation and pursuit of work with value, brilliance, and originality, according to officials

“Trustee Scholar is the highest collegiate honor awarded by the Ringling College Board of Trustees,” Ringling College President Larry Thompson said in a statement. “Trustee Scholars exemplify the originality, talent and work ethic required for success within their respective areas of study, as well as exceptional leadership and citizenship to the Ringling community.”

Every year, the Ringling College of Art and Design Board of Trustees awards the Trustee Scholarship to the students who best illustrate dedication, originality, ambition and talent in their field of study. In addition to the extraordinary recognition, Trustee Scholars also receive a $5,000 monetary award, funded by the Ringling College Board of Trustees.

The 2016 Ringling College Of Art And Design Trustee Scholars Are:

  • Ellen Arnold - Computer Animation
  • Paige Bauer - Business Of Art And Design
  • Stacey D’andelet - Graphic Design
  • Khoa Duong - Photography And Imaging
  • Philip Gleichauf - Motion Design
  • Griffin Goodman - Fine Arts
  • Kyle Leicht - Student Life
  • Nicholas Marten - Game Art
  • Tess Messina - Interior Design
  • Celia Nogales - Fine Arts
  • Jun Cheng Robson Tan - Advertising Design
  • Robin Thompson - Illustration
  • Jacob Wojenski - Film

Trustee Scholars were nominated by the head of each academic department as well as the Office of Student Life. Trustee Scholar nominees were forwarded to the Board of Trustees for final selection, based on the following criteria:

1. Exceptional talent and distinction of mind.

2. Contribution to the department, College, and community.

3. Continued demonstration of leadership, citizenship, and mentorship.