Cody McDuffie beats field, rain at Desoto Speedway Pro Truck Invitational

Cody McDuffie used two strong restarts during the back half of the race to capture the inaugural Florida Pro Truck Invitational at Desoto Speedway on Saturday, capping aa Father’s Day weekend doubleheader..

McDuffie took the lead for the first time on a lap 42 restart in the 75-lap event. He seized the lead again on a second restart several laps later and slowly pulled away until he caught up to the rear of the field.

Traffic allowed McDuffie’s pursuers to draw closer, but they ran out of laps. Nick Hernandez, Rodney Haddock, J.R. Garcia and Donnie Burkhalter followed McDuffie across the finish, moments before the rain arrived, ending the night.

In the other headline event on Saturday’s race card, Jesse Dutilly dominated the 100-lap Sunoco Challenge Super Series feature. He led by as many as six seconds during the last half of the race. Dylan Bigley, Daniel Keene, Joe Boyd and Nick Neri completed the top five.

In the 30-lap Sportsmen feature, Mike Smith led the final 27 laps with Jason Rendell, Colin Allman and Stuart Vandevender following him across the finish.

In other action this weekend, Josh Todd held off Aaron Holmes to win the 25-lap Bomber feature; Shane Leonard took advantage of Darrin Ellis' mechanical issues and went on to win the 25-lap Pure Stock feature; Chris Spring won the 25-lap Modified Mini feature; Jeff Firestine took his third victory of the season in Street Stocks; and Billy Campbell won the 25-lap Dan Curl Memorial for the Outlaw Modifieds.

Next Saturday night, Desoto Speedway will host Kids' Night Out featuring School Bus Figure 8 racing, a demolition derby and the track's enduro-style classes.



Super Late Model: 1. Jessie Dutilly; 2. Dylan Bigley; 3. Daniel Keene; 4. Joe Boyd; 5. Nick Nerri; 6. Billy Bigley; 7. Colin Allman; 8. Charlie Brown; 9. Michael Atwell; 10. Robert Ford; 11. John White; 12. John Coffman.

Pro Trucks: 1. Cody McDuffy; 2. Nick Hernandez; 3. Rodney Haddock; 4. J.R, Garcia; 5. Donnie Burkhalter; 6. Cody Martell; 7. Blake Haddock; 8. Michael Goddard; 9. Derek Pugh; 10. Scott McKay; 11. Corey Bigley; 12. Scott Hogan; 13. Billy Carlbert; 14. Cameron Cruise; 15. Cody Carlbert; 16. Taylor Hosford; 17. Jason Lester; 18. Bubba Thompson; 19. Brent Huber; 20. Danny Anderson; 21. Jimmy Best; 22. Becca Monopoli; 23. Tommy Kelly; 24. Duane Best

D.Q.Sportsman: 1. Mike Smith; 2. Jason Rendell; 3. Colin Allman; 4. Bobby Mobley; 5. Joey Sims; 6. Roger Welch; 7. Josh Borem; 8. Stuart Vandevender; 9. Rick Reed; 10. Jason Bartrum; 1. Bill Vandevender; 12. Brooke Storer

Outlaw Modified: 1. Billy Champbell; 2. David Poteat; 3. Rick Chapman; 4. Mike Endee; 5. Kevin Endee.


Street Stock: 1. Jeff Firestine; 2. Danny Caylor; 3. Travis Barfield; 4. Todd Brown; 5. Kenny Gibson; 6. Donnie Powers; 7. Matt McCrary; 8. Jason Bartram; 9. Bobby Huffstutler; 10. Scott Finch; 11. Garrett Thompson; 12. Bobby Destler; 13. Mike Rowland; 14. Lee Hobbs; 15. Jamie Castleberry

Pure Stock: 1. Shane Leonard; 2. Blaine Baer; 3. Sherry Best; 4. Jimmie Best; 5. Darrin Ellis; 6. James Wright; 7. Roger Dufrense; 8. Logan Leonard; 9. Gerald Fossa; 10. Terry Price.

Bomber: 1. Josh Todd; 2. Aaron Holmes; 3. Bobby Destler; 4. Jeff Pacheco; 5. Brandon Martin; 6. Doug Radley; 7. Adam Briggs; 8. Dennis Koselak; 9. Ann Marie Ricardi; 10. Mark Gill; 11. Kenny Gibson

Modified Mini: 1. Chris Spring; 2. Mike Karrivan; 3 Jimmie Frazier; 4. Brad Blanton; 5. Travis Kirby; 6. Michael Whittington; 7. Jimmie Wood; 8. Dave Davis; 9. Darrin Ellis; 10. Rachelle Rudolph

Pro Trucks: 1. Blake Haddock; 2. Tommy Kelley; 3. Nick Hernandez; 4. Scott McKay; 5. Duane Best; 6. Bubba Thompson; 7. Kristen Clements; 8. Dan Lauther; 9. Scott Klieber