2 Manatee County students named National Merit Scholars

MANATEE -- Two Manatee County students were named National Merit Scholars on Wednesday.

Abigail E. Chetlain of Manatee High School and Lydia J. Super of the State College of Florida Collegiate School were both awarded the scholarships under the National Merit Corporation, according to a release from the school district.

The awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually to the award winners. Chetlain's is funded by the University of Houston while Super's is funded by the University of Alabama.