6 finalists on short list for 12th Circuit Court judgeship

6 finalists in line for


SARASOTA -- Six applicants have been selected for consideration by the 12th Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission to fill the vacancy for circuit court judge due after the retirement of Judge Lee Haworth: Maryann Olson Boehm, Hunter Carroll, Teresa Kaklis Dees, Renee Inman, Arthur Jackman Jr. and James Toale.

All interviews will take place at the Lynn N. Silvertooth Judicial Center, 2002 Ringling Blvd., eighth floor conference room, Sarasota.

USF Sarasota-Manatee will open second biolab

SARASOTA -- USF Sarasota-Manatee has received a $50,000 grant from the Selby Foundation to support construction of a second modular laboratory for biological research.

The grant helps narrow the university fundraising target to support the new lab after funds provided to the university financed a 600-square-foot modular lab last spring.

University officials say the second research lab will be installed this summer at the north end of campus alongside the existing lab and operating by September.

Christelle Bouchard, who will occupy the second lab, said she will conduct research into cellular biology using jellyfish. Research shows jellyfish sense and react to their environment with basic cellular responses similar to those in humans and other creatures.

The Selby Foundation has provided more than $94 million in grants and scholarships to nearly 400 organizations and more than 1,000 students since its formation by William and Marie Selby in 1955. The foundation's primary focus is capital projects in Sarasota, Manatee, Charlotte and DeSoto counties.

-- Herald staff reports