SCF Brain Bowl team wins championship at FCSAA State Tournament

MANATEE --State College of Florida's Brain Bowl teams took the championship at the Florida College System Activities Association (FCSAA) State Tournament Saturday along with other honors.

Ten teams competed in the FCSAA State Tournament at the Pasco-Hernando State College Friday and Saturday, according to a media release.

SCF's Fire team, made up of squad captain Naim Chowdhury and Michael Moore, Leon Hostetler, Chris Medrano and Carlyle Styer, beat Indian River State College in the championship round to take first place, putting an end to defending champion Chipola College's winning streak of seven consecutive wins.

SCF's Ice team, made up of squad captain Adriana Souza and Paul Foerster, Jonathan Willman, Matthew Willman and Austin Goode, took sixth place.

Individual players, Chowdhury, Moore, Hostetler and Foerster were ranked in the

tournament's Top 10.

"SCF Brain Bowl students are amazing, and I'm so happy for them. They are an inspiration to me and an example of how hard work, dedication and focus can pay off," said SCF President Carol F. Probstfeld said in a statement.

Moore and Chowdhury were also named FCSAA All-Tournament players.

At the competition, coach Christina Dwyer was recognized as the FCSAA Brain Bowl Coach of the Year.

"The greatest thing that the students take away from Brain Bowl is the friendships they have formed and their ability to work together as a team. The skills they have acquired from their experiences are strengths that they will take to the workforce in the future," Dwyer said in the statement.