Chappie elected to chair Manatee County Commission

MANATEE -- The Manatee County Commission today elected John Chappie as its new chairman.

He replaces Commissioner Carol Whitmore, who was elected chairman of the Tourist Development Council.

Elected as commission vice-chairman was Commissioner Larry Bustle. Commissioner Joe McClash was chosen as 2nd vice-chairman, and Commissioner Robin DiSabatino will serve as 3rd vice-chairman.

Bustle was also re-elected chairman of the Manatee County Port Authority, which oversees Port Manatee, while Whitmore was elected as the authority’s 1st vice-chair; DiSabatino will be 2nd vice-chair, and Commissioner Michael Gallen will be 3rd vice-chair.

Sara Kennedy, Herald reporter, can be reached at 941-745-7031.