Whitmore elected chair of Manatee County Commission

Manatee County Commissioners today voted Carol Whitmore as chairwoman of the board for 2011.

Whitmore, an at-large commissioner since 2006, was also voted 2011 chair of the Tourist Development Council.

Commissioner John Chappie will serve as 1st vice chairman. Commissioner Larry Bustle will be 2nd vice chairman and Commissioner Michael Gallen will be 3rd vice chairman.

Sitting Chairman Donna Hayes will serve as chair through Dec. 31, and new officers take their seats on Jan. 1.

Commissioners also voted on 2010 officers’ positions for the other boards on which they serve. Bustle was reappointed as chair of the Manatee Port Authority.

Commissioner Joe McClash will be chair of the Civic Center Authority.

Commissioner Robin DiSabatino will serve as chair of the Community Redevelopment Agency.