Motorsports | Sarasota's Anthony Campi dominates Late Model feature

Special to the HeraldJune 2, 2014 

Not even a rain delay could slow down Sarasota's Anthony Campi on his way to a commanding win Saturday night in the Turner Tree & Landscape 75-lap Super Late Model feature at Desoto Speedway.

Bradenton's Jesse Dutilly started second and passed pole-sitter T.J. Duke for the lead before the completion of the second lap. Dutilly pulled away early until Anthony Campi passed Duke for second. Campi started running Dutilly down and was within a couple of car lengths of the lead when the caution flew for Brian Richardson's spin on 17.

The caution flew again four laps later for a five-car pileup that started when Daniel Webster and David Green got together just past the start/finish line and ended in Turn 1.

After what would be the final restart, Campi passed Dutilly on the outside for the lead at the end of the 25th lap. He would go unchallenged the rest of the way, leading the final 50 laps on his way to the win.

"We were set up for long green flag runs, and that's what we had to the end," Campi said.

Dutilly, who said he had flat tires in three of the past six races at Desoto Speedway, finished second.

"I'm disappointed to run second, but Campi was the class of the field," Dutilly said. "We're gaining on him, but obviously we've got some work to do."

Chris Fontaine passed Jeff Scofield for third place with just a handful of laps to go. Duke, who won a Super Late Model event at Desoto a few weeks ago, rounded out the top five.

The Take Aim Gun Range Late Model Sportsmen followed with a 40-lap feature. Ryan Pancoast led the first four laps before being passed by Aaron Williamson, who pulled out to a lead of nearly five seconds over Brandon Morris and Steve Gainey before a caution for a spin on Lap 28.

On the restart, Gainey roared from third to first. Williamson wasted no time getting back to the lead and found himself back at the head of the field on Lap 31. Morris and Gainey got together going into turn, allowing Mark Peterson to slide into second place.

Williamson pulled away from the rest of the field to collect the win. Peterson and Morris staged a side-by-side battle for second place over the final two laps, with Morris nipping Peterson at the checkered flag.

In other action Saturday night, John Garrett won the Cowboy Cadillac feature; Duane Best took the victory in the 30-lap Pure Stock feature after initial winner Cameron Ray's car failed post-race inspection; Billy Campbell was the winner of the 25-lap Outlaw Modified feature event; and Joey Catarelli won the 25-lap Pro Figure 8 race.

Desoto Speedway returns to action June 7 with the Joey Coulter Pro Truck Series, Take Aim Gun Range Sportsmen and the J.D. Byrider Open Wheel Modifieds, Pure Stock, Pro 4/Rookie 4 and Mini Stock. The Desoto Speedway J.R. Fan Club for kids will also give young fans the chance to meet several of the Open Wheel drivers.Desoto SpeedwaySATURDAY RESULTS

Super Late Model

1. 81 Anthony Campi, 2. 30 Jesse Dutilly, 3. 47 Chris Fontaine, 4. 6 Jeff Scofield, 5. 28D T.J. Duke, 6. 33 Daniel Webster, 7. 12 David Green, 8. 128 Dylan Bigley, 9. 28Billy Bigley Jr., 10. 59 Jake Perkins, 11. 57 Joe Winchell, 12. 51 Michael Atwell, 13. 56 Brian Richardson, 14. 5 Joe Boyd Riverview DNS.Sportsman1. 13 Aaron Williamson, 2. 56 Brrandon Morris, 3. 73 Mark Peterson, 4. 79x Steve Gainey, 5. 25 Brooke Storer, 6. 47 Ryan Pancoast, 7. 33 Derrick Wood.Pure Stock1. 3 Duane Best, 2. 97 Chris Scott, 3. 80 Chad Cummings, 4. 18 Troy Theim, 5. 74 Paul Huffstutler, 6. 16 Cody Allen Lehigh, 7. 63 Kyle Best, 8. 67 Jimmie Best, 9. 44 Rick Hess, 10. 9 Camron Ray Homosassa D.Q.Outlaw Modified1. 00 Bill Campbell, 2. 26 Mike Endee, 3. 14 Dan Ackard, 4. 80 Richard Nelson, 5. 04 Tom Meyer, 6. 51 Mark Patton, 7. 22 Ric Mills, 8. 5 Kevin Endee.Figure 81. 6c Joey Catarelli, 2. 14 Wayne Kaulkins, 3. 94 Charles Meyer, 4. 6s Shawn Senkossoff, 5. 11 James Poole, 6. 941 Justin Meyer, 7. 17 Michael Cherry, 8. 16 Cody Benoit D.N.S.Cowboy Cadillacs1. 26 John Garrett, 2. 63 James Wright, 3. 2 Lance Somber, 4. 6 Chris Bridges, 5. 5 Ed Snyder, 6. 32 Shawn Shinault, 7. 80 Richard Nelson, 8. 8 Mike Bialaki D.N.S.

Bradenton Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service