MLB rules Ortiz pop up a hit in Darvish no-hit bid

The Sports NetworkMay 14, 2014 

New York, NY (SportsNetwork.com) - Major League Baseball has changed the scoring in Texas starter Yu Darvish's no-hit bid from last Friday against Boston, ruling David Ortiz's seventh-inning pop up that fell in short right field a hit.

Darvish had retired the first 20 batters when Ortiz hit a pop up that fell between second baseman Rougned Odor and right fielder Alex Rios. Official scorer Steve Weller initially called it an error, citing Rule 10.12 that says a play that can be made with "ordinary effort" can be judged as an error even if no player touches the ball.

Rios was charged with the error and Darvish' no-hit bid continued into the ninth inning, when Ortiz laced a clean single with two outs to spoil it.

The Red Sox appealed the ruling and MLB overturned the call.

Bradenton Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service