Florida mandates child safety seats for under-5 set

Herald/Times Tallahassee BureauApril 30, 2014 

TALLAHASSEE -- Starting in January, children under age 5 must ride in a child safety seat in Florida when traveling in an automobile under legislation passed Tuesday by the Senate and sent to the governor.

House Bill 225 received final approval after legislators had tried for 14 years to get the measure passed. The vote was 36-3.

Under the bill, pushed by members of the Florida Junior League and sponsored by state Sen. Anitere Flores, R-Miami, children ages 4

and 5, who often outgrow car seats, must have a booster seat.

Drivers who violate the requirement are subject to a $60 fine, court costs and add-ons, and having three points assessed against their driver's license. To avoid the points, the driver may participate in a child restraint safety program.

There are some exceptions: children between 4 and 5 years of age may use a seat belt if the driver is not a member of the child's immediate family and the child is being transported as a favor to the family, in the case of an emergency or when a doctor provides reason for an exception.

"This is a wonderful bill and it's going to save children's lives," said state Sen. Thad Altman, R-Melbourne, who worked on passing the bill for years.

State Sen. Maria Sachs, D-Delray Beach, called it a "mom's issue."

State Sen. Oscar Braynon, D-Miami, called it a "father issue, too."

And state Sen. Dwight Bullard, D-Miami, said concerned uncles support it as well.

Bradenton Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service