LOCAL BRIEFS: LECOM and State College of Florida announce affiliation

April 29, 2014 

LECOM, SCF announce new affiliation agreement

BRADENTON -- Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine and State College of Florida have announced an affiliation agreement.

SCF students who meet admissions requirements will gain early acceptance to LECOM's master's degree in health services administration program in Lakewood Ranch.

The LECOM master's program provides knowledge and skills required to plan, direct and coordinate medical and health services as administrators in hospitals or other health care facilities, public health care organizations and private practice groups.

The knowledge is geared to fiscal, planning and managerial work in health care organizations and management of clinical practices.

Much of the program is conducted online, but students must report to LECOM's Bradenton campus at 4800 Lakewood Ranch Blvd. for coursework and to meet accreditation standards for in-person training.

Information: http://lecom.edu/school-graduate-studies or call 941-405-1535.

SCF to honor nursing graduates at ceremony

BRADENTON -- State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota will hold a pinning and candle-lighting ceremony honoring nursing graduates at 7 p.m. Wednesday at SCF Bradenton, 5840 26th St. W,, in Neel Performing Arts Center, building 11 East.

Guest speaker will be Evys Otero, a 2002 nursing graduate. Nursing faculty will present students with nursing pins and welcome them into the nursing profession.

SCF Bradenton and Lakewood Ranch graduates: Stephanie Adams, Ashley Apetz, Martha Benton, Kara Bunch, Samantha Cheetham, Elisabeth Cherr, Brittney Christie, Melanie Clarkson, Brian Cortes, Briana Crawford, Laura Crouse, Isabel Crowder, Donna Cuccuini, Danielle Cupp, Danielle DeCubellis, Brandi Doyle, Holly Fahey, Nichole Fitzgerald, Serena Flickner, Wendy Gerhardt, Lisa Gilbert, Stephanie Goble, Andrea Grady, Oliver Hale, Tiffany Hester, Vietnu Huynh, Haley Johnston, Charles Kasten, Nicole Kay, Ni Kim, Laura Lando, Kimberley Lee, Dawn Leeder, Kelly Lulofs, Chelsea March, Amy Mark, Jessica Mathis, Melissa McClern, Jennifer Menzies, John Merrill, Whitney Olund, Giselle Palumbo, Alice Pearl, Christina Perez, Uyen Pham, Rose Presendieu, Jillian Raber, Ernesto Rendon, Damien Rickwa, Audrey Shockley, Mark Shumway, Sarah Surratt, Whitney Taylor, Karmen Thomas, Fatima Tucker, Karissa Weaver, Leigh Willey, Margaretta Williams, Thomas Wood and Jennifer Yantz.

-- Herald staff reports

Bradenton Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service