Desoto Speedway | Chad Chastain claims another Pro Truck feature victory

Special to the HeraldApril 21, 2014 

Chad Chastain won his second straight Pro Truck feature Saturday night at Desoto Speedway.PROVIDED PHOTO

EAST MANATEE -- When it comes to Pro Truck racing at Desoto Speedway, Chad Chastain seems to have figured out the quick way around the three-eighths mile oval early this season.

In a near replay of last month's Pro Truck feature, Chastain grabbed the lead at around the halfway point of the 50-lap feature and drove on to his second straight win at the East Manatee raceway.

Outside pole-sitter Gerald Campbell grabbed the lead at the start and led a four-truck freight train around the track for the first 20 laps. Chastain moved past Steve Darvalics for second on Lap 16 and began stalking Campbell for the lead.

As the field completed the 22nd lap, Campbell and Chastain ran up on the back of a lapped car. Darvalics, running third at the time, made slight contact with Chastain coming off Turn 2, causing Chastain to spin wildly down the back stretch. Race officials sent Darvalics to the rear of the field while Chastain was allowed to keep his spot in second.

On the restart, Campbell, Chastain and Bradenton's Danny Anderson battled for the lead. One lap later, Campbell lost control of his truck coming out of Turn 2. The spin also collected Anderson, whose truck was not badly damaged and was allowed to resume the race in second place.

Chastain began pulling away from Anderson and Bradenton's Dennis Coletti after the restart. As the top three trucks motored on, Darvalics began quickly working his way back through the field and was up to fourth with 15 laps to go.

In the final stages of the race, Chastain steadily pulled away while Anderson, Coletti and Darvalics battled for second spot. With about 10 laps to go, Anderson's truck began smoking, and that allowed Coletti and Darvalics to get by.

With three laps left, Chastain caught a slew of lapped traffic that allowed Coletti to close the gap, but Chastain went on to win. Darvalics was awarded second place after Coletti's truck failed post-race inspection. Anderson, Tyler Lau and Nick Hernandez rounded out the top five.

In other action Saturday night, Ronnie Robinson came from the rear of the field to win the Mini Stock feature; Mike Endee won the 25-lap Outlaw Modified feature; and Darren Bass won his third consecutive Dwarf Car feature.

Duane Best was awarded the win in Pure Stock feature after initial winner Logan Leonard was disqualified in post-race technical inspection. Chris Larson won the Mini Stock figure 8; Keith Sankula won the 25-lap Legends feature, and Jeff Firestine won the Modified Mini feature.

Desoto Speedway will host racing next weekend and will return to normal racing action on May 3.

Bradenton Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service