Sarasota Film Festival honors the best for 2014

'Mad Men' star Moss appears on screen and on the Opera House stage

mclear@bradenton.comApril 13, 2014 

From left, Sarasota Film Festival director Tom Hall and "The One I Love" director Charlie McDowell, star Elisabeth Moss and screenwriter Justin Lader address the crowd Saturday at a screening of the closing night film. MARTY CLEAR/Bradenton Herald

SARASOTA -- A nearly full house at the Sarasota Opera House said farewell to the 16th annual Sarasota Film Festival on Saturday night.

An awards ceremony honored the casts and directors of 12 films, including comic actor Mike Myers, who made his directorial debut with "Supermensch: The Legend of Shep Gordon." His film won the Audience Award for Best Documentary. (Myers was not in attendance.)

One star who was at the Opera House was Elisabeth Moss, the "West Wing" and "Mad Men" actor who starred in the festival's Closing Night Film, "The One I Love," which screened after the awards ceremony.

Moss, along with director Charlie McDowell and screenwriter Justin Lader, came onto the Opera House stage after the screening to answer questions about the film, which mixed ro

mance, comedy and science fiction.

"The last time I was in an opera house I was 8 years old and I spent three hours crying," McDowell said.

The awards ceremony had all the familiar elements, including recipients who started the speeches with "I wasn't expecting this" and others who couldn't be there. ("Get used to it," festival director Tom Hall told the audience. "We don't have much of a travel budget.")

But it had some surprises, including one award that shattered on the floor when someone dropped it.

Director Michael Tully, who won the Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature for "Ping Pong Summer," said the Sarasota Film Festival was special to him for a couple reasons.

"All four features of mine have been screened here," he said, "and at no other festival have I met my wife."

Here's a complete list of this year's prize winners:

• Narrative Feature Jury Prize: "Ida," directed by Pawel Pawlikowski

• Documentary Jury Prize: "Happy Valley," directed by Amir Bar-Lev

• Special Jury Prize for Ensemble Acting: "We Are the Best!," directed by Lukas Moodysson

• Special Jury Prize for Direction: "Rich Hill," directed by Tracy Droz Tragos and Andrew Droz Palermo.

• Independent Visions Award: "Thou Wast Mild And Lovely," directed by Josephine Decker.

• Outstanding Performance Award: Tallie Medel from "Joy Kevin"

• Best Ensemble Award: "BFE," directed by Shawn Telford

• Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature: "Ping Pong Summer," directed by Michael Tully

• The Audience Award for Best Documentary: "Supermensch," directed by Mike Myers

• The Best In World Cinema Audience Award: "Bicycling With Moliere," directed by Philippe le Guay

• Audience Award for Best Short Film: "Chub," directed by Samuel Albis

Marty Clear, features writer/columnist, can be reached at 941-7087919. Follow him on Twitter @martinclear.

Bradenton Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service