Desoto Speedway | 2013 track champions crowned

Special to the HeraldDecember 9, 2013 

BRADENTON -- The final night of regular racing action of the 2013 season saw champions crowned unofficially for Desoto Speedway's classes of racers, including some who took full advantage of double points offered across the board to win their respective classes.

In Pro Truck action, Chad Chastain of Alva needed a win and a finish of no better than third by Brett Huber. Huber, of Venice, grabbed the lead early in the 25-lap feature and appeared to be setting sail for the win before a caution for debris bunched up the field and allowed Chastain to close on his rear bumper. Huber and Chastain raced each other hard for several laps, with Chastain getting to the lead with about six laps remaining.

He would go on to win the race, but Huber's runner-up finish allowed him to win the 2013 Pro Truck season title by just two points over Chastain, the younger brother of NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver and former Desoto competitor Ross Chastain.

Coming into Saturday night's racing, Joey Azzata held a 56-point advantage over Keith Sinkula in the Legends points race. Azzata was absent Saturday night, meaning Sinkula needed to win the race and take the 60 points available for winning the race to take the title. Sinkula started last in the field in the 20-lap race, but passed Darin Coker for the lead as the field completed the fifth lap of the race. Coker stayed in Sinkula's tracks for the duration of the event, but it was Sinkula sitting in the winner's circle with both the race and champion's trophies at the end of the night.

In other action Saturday night, James Dellea of Port Charlotte needed to just finish ahead of Chris Loney to win the Road Warrior title. Jeff Firestine led the first 21 laps of the 25-lap main event before a mechanical failure sent him to the infield and Dellea to the lead. Dellea went on to win both the race and the championship. Teammate Richard Nelson, finished second.

In the Pro 4 division, Randy Johnson took advantage of a mechanical problem by points and race leader Ronald Robinson with just a handful of laps left in the 20-lap feature.

Robinson's mechanical issues proved costly, as his third-place finish gave the season title to Robinson.

Sherry Best saw her amazing season in the Rookie 4 division come to an end with another feature win and the season championship, while James Widner finished off his championship season in the Junk Yard Dogs division with a feature win.

In the 25-lap Street Stock feature, Bill Vandevender got by brother, Stuart, with just a few laps remaining to take the win. Bill was not able to pass the tech inspection, which turned the win back over to his brother from North Fort Myers. Duane Best was the champion in that class for 2013.

Ric Mills won the Cowboy Cadillac feature, but it was John Pummell Jr. walking away with the season championship. John Parrish was the feature winner in the Outlaw Modified event. That series does not race for points at Desoto Speedway.

Other track champions whose season had already concluded before Saturday night included Joe Boyd in Super Late Model, Steve Arnold in Open Wheel Modifieds and Aaron Williamson in the Late Model Sportsman division.

Up next for Desoto Speedway is the Crash n' Bash night Dec. 28. The night will feature school bus figure-8 racing, a demolition derby, flag pole racing, reverse races and more.

Bradenton Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service