Recount confirms re-election of incumbent Holmes Beach commissioners

November 8, 2013 

HOLMES BEACH -- A recount Thursday of votes in the race for seats on the Holmes Beach Commission confirmed the re-election of three incumbent commissioners.

Pat Morton was the clear front runner, but three other candidates for two remaining seats finished within 12 votes of each other.

After the recount, the winners of the three seats up for election were: Morton, 753 votes; David Zaccagnino, 651 votes; and Jean Peelen, 648 votes.

Trailing were challengers Carol Soustek, with 635 votes; and C. Melissa Williams, 417 votes.

Bradenton Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service