Vin's People: Manatee senior receives Jeanne Parrish Scholarship

May 24, 2013 

If Bryneka Bailey didn't know who Jeanne Parrish is before, she does now.

The Manatee High School senior is the recipient of the 2013 $1,000 Jeanne Parrish Scholarship, named for the beloved and irrepressible 94-years young retired educator, who taught at Manatee for 31 years until retiring in 1983.

Bryneka will attend State College of Florida and major in management. She's a member of Z-Club, the NAACP Youth Council and has a 3.5 GPA.

The scholarship is funded by a host of Parrish's devoted former students.

"I told them I want it to go to a deserving student who has good grades and truly needed it," she said.

• Big ups to Our Lady Queen of Martyrs Pastor Joe Connolly, who just marked 45 years in the priesthood.

• Jeff Harwood graduated from Georgetown University with an MBA in international finance and will work for the Federal Reserve Bank in New York City.

The 2004 Bayshore High alum grad got undergrad degrees in accounting and finance from the University of Central Florida.

Jim and Tracie are proud.

• Lovebirds Genola and Homer Cablish celebrated 70 years of wedded bliss at Westminster Manor Health Center.

• Baseball America magazine projects Cord Sandberg as a second-round selection in the June 6 amateur draft, but the Manatee Hurricane outfielder is unfazed.

"It doesn't mean a thing until your name is called," he said.

• Props to Fit2Run officials Parks Robinson and Justin James for recently donating 200 pair of shoes for youngsters at 13th Av Dream Center.

• Gene Witt Elementary third-grader Brooke James is 9. Cheers from Jon, Jen and Leah.

• Chris Manring, the new marketing guru at SCF, is 24.

• The Principal's Wall of Honor at Lincoln Middle School has its first 10 names, including principals spanning the era from Lincoln Memorial High School in 1949 through the transition to a middle school in 1970 to the present day.

The honorees were Carlos E. Haile, James L. Gant, James Tillman and Joseph T. Bivens, whose tenure bridged the high school-to-middle school conversion during integration, followed by James L. Dupree, Richard A. Bills, Ronald K. Hirst, Reid E. Wallace, Curtis J. Davis and Ronnie L. King.

The Wall of Honor was unveiled at Thursday morning ceremonies.

• Dianne McGowan,

the Department of Motor Vehicle's Palmetto-based regional administrator, is retiring after 41 years.

• Hung out with DeSoto's Ann and Curt Mahoney one night last week at the Beau Rivage in Biloxi, Miss.

• It's good to be Gillian Palino these days.

She received her Gold Award, the Girl Scouts' highest award, at last Sunday's Young Women of Distinction Luncheon in Port Charlotte.

The Southeast High student was also named assistant drum major for the Marching 'Noles.

Congrats from Judy, Hayden, Dawn and Kyle.

• KC and the Sunshine Dancers host "Breaking Ground 2013," showcasing talented high school dancers from Manatee School for the Arts, Lakewood Ranch, Palmetto and Bayshore as well as Lee Middle School and SCF.

Showtime is 7 p.m. Tuesday at MSA, 700 Haben Blvd., Palmetto.

Vin's People, is by local columnist Vin Mannix. He can be reached at 941-745-7055. Twitter: @vinmannix.

Bradenton Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service