Cedar Hammock names new fire chief

May 21, 2013 

Cedar Hammock names new fire chief

MANATEE -- Cedar Hammock Fire Rescue held a "Passing the Torch" ceremony May 9, marking new department leadership.

The Board of Fire Commissioners appointed Jeffrey Hoyle fire chief, replacing retiring chief Randall Stulce. who served 12 years with Cedar Hammock and 42 years total in fire service.

Other retiring Cedar Hammock Fire Rescue officials include division chiefs Dan Center and Robert Permane, and training officer Leigh Hollins.

Hoyle started with Cedar Hammock in 1994 and rose through the ranks as a company officer, training/safety officer, fire marshal and division chief

After officially taking the helm, Hoyle promoted nine Cedar Hammock Fire Rescue members:

• Alexander Lobeto, division chief, administration.

• Michael DeChelbor, division chief, operations.

• Mark Bandstra, battalion chief, A shift.

• Gene Brown, battalion chief, C shift.

• Billy Whitfield, captain, B shift.

• Nick Herlihy, captain, C shift / training officer.

• Bill Smith, lieutenant, B shift.

• Joe Falcone, lieutenant C shift.

• James Taylor, 1st class firefighter C shift.

-- Herald staff report

Bradenton Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service