Shufflin | Bradenton Shuffle Club's Dave Kudro wins coveted national pin

January 29, 2013 

Dave Kudro came to Florida from the Akron, Ohio, area and plays out of Bradenton Shuffle Club. Partnering with Mel Erb in the National Doubles last week, winning first place in the Main Event at Trailer Estates, Dave was ecstatic to receive the National Championship Pin.

His partner, Mel, along with only about a dozen of the rest of us in the Southwest Coast District, had already received his pin. This beautiful pin is given only once in a lifetime and only in wins in tournaments sponsored by the United States of America National Shuffleboard Association.

Congratulations, Dave.

Honored at the USANSA Annual Winter Meeting at Trailer Estates was another Southwest District player, Ann Wedel, elected to the Special Award category of the USANSA Hall of Fame. The Special Award honors those with special service to shuffleboard at the National level. Ann was inducted into the player category in 2002. Her special service includes 15 years as curator of the USANSA Hall of Fame Museum, now at Clearwater. Ann and Walt also sponsor tournaments in Michigan, and Ann is a veteran tournament director in the Southwest Coast District. These honors are well-deserved.

Tournament results

n FL P-17 National M/L Winter Doubles, Jan. 23 at Trailer Estates. Men Main: 1.Dave Kudro-Mel Erb, 2. Faren VanDeGrift-Ben Coy, 3. Freeman Gingerich-Clarence Gingerich. Consolation: 1. Jim L. Miller, 3. Peter Berg-Al Nuttall. Ladies Main: 1. Ann Wedel-Judy Taylor, 3. Bonnie Walker-Joan Erwin, 4. Kathy Wilson-Alice Barlow. Consolation: 1. Nancy Sclafani, 2. Carol Lumsden-Erika Berg, 3. Beverly Jensen-Margaret Hartzler, 4. Arlene McCague-Patty Howell. Nine men and 13 ladies -- 22 of 32 places won this year by members of the Southwest Coast District of Florida.

n SWCD D-14, Jan. 24 at Palmetto. Restricted M/L Draw Doubles, 75 points or 16 frames. Men Main: 1. Larry Mardis-John Roberson, 2. Stan Bush-Jerry Everett, 3. Jim Rathburn-Dennis Wood, 4. Peter Berg-Walt Wedel. Consolation: 1. Al Kaleel-Ralph Lozano, 2. Clarence Gingerich-Levi Miller, 3. Max Munk-Ed Leonard, 4. Larry Toole-Russell Spoto.

n Ladies Main: 1. Bonnie Walker-Heather Godson, 2. Joan Curwin-Nancy Sclafani, 3. Kathy Wilson-Joan Erwin, 4. Nancy Ulicny-Letha DeVries. Consolation: 1. Alice Barlow-Beverly Jensen, 2. Linda Wallingford-Margaret Hartzler, 3. Carolyn Bailey-Clara Wynn, 4. Carol Lumsden-Ingrid Broadhead.

n SWCD A-11, Jan. 26 at Palmetto, District Amateurs/Any Doubles, 16 frames or 75 points. Main: 1. Mike Keeping-Bill Reinbolt, 2. Chuck Huddleston-Keith Petty, 3. Janice O'Sullivan-Terry McNamara, 4. Delmer Kohorst-Everette Hall. Consolation: 1. Lowell and Debra Williams, 2. Jim Weirsma-Duane Baardseth, 3. Ray Rossen-Gary Hartzler, 4. Paul Johnson-Frank Rivett.

Future tournaments

n Tuesday is the second day of FL P-18A at Zephyrhills Betmar and P-18B at Hollywood. Also, it's the second day of FL A-15 at Bradenton Tropical Palms. Remember, the PREVIEW is correct rather than many circulating 2012-20113 schedules.

n Thursday, SWCD D-15 at Bradenton Shuffle Club, M/L Draw Doubles Restricted to State Amateurs and Pros, 75 points.

n Friday, SWCD A-12 at Bradenton, District Amateurs/Any Doubles, 16 frames or 75 points.

n On Feb. 4 FL P-19 at Bradenton, State Sponsored M/L Doubles, 75 points, Open to all. State sponsored 8-6-5-3 in Main Event. Also Monday, Feb. 4 at Paradise Bay, FL A-16, Any Amateurs/Any Doubles.


n The State and District 2013-2014 tournament schedules are available from your club president or SWCD President Mike Marquis.

n Tentative plans include a shuffle clinic at Bradenton Shuffle Club second Saturday in March. We remain willing to offer clinics at member clubs.

n Twenty-eight District amateur teams at Palmetto is the largest attendance in several years. All shufflers are welcome to join in this healthful, vigorous sport.

Happy shuffling.

Bradenton Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service