Commentary | Eight skaters from the Ellenton Ice and Sports Complex competed at the 2013 United States Figure Skating Championships

January 29, 2013 

Eight skaters from the Ellenton Ice and Sports Complex competed at the 2013 United States Figure Skating Championships in Omaha, Neb., which wrapped up on Sunday.

Felicia Zhang and Nate Bartholomay had the best result when they snagged the bronze medal in the championship pairs event. After tallying 172.02 total points in the short program and free skate, the duo were edged by 0.73 points for the silver medal.

Competing in the same event, Mark Ladwig and Lindsay Davis were right behind them in fourth place, while Tarah Kayne and Danny O'Shea placed seventh.

Meanwhile, Noah Chinault and Grace Knoop took sixth in the novice pairs division after accruing 90.43 points.

Scholarship nomination

Alex Zec was nominated for the Dave Andreychuk Scholarship earlier this month. The senior hockey forward from Bradenton plays on the Sarasota Rampage, the lone high school hockey team in the area.

Zec is the only nominee from the Rampage, and he's attempting to become the second consecutive winner of the award from Manatee County.

Lakewood Ranch's Jake Owens, who played

for the Manatee County Hockey Club's Golden Manatees last winter, won the 2012 award that provides financial assistance with college.

Grooundhog Jog

The Groundhog Jog 5K/10K race is scheduled for Saturday in Lakewood Ranch. Both races will begin at the same time (8 a.m.) through Rosedale Golf and Country Club, while the free kids dash begins at 7:30 a.m. Prizes for the overall male and female winners as well as male and female master's winners are available. Food, beverages and family activities are included in the post-race party plans. The cost is $25 (5K) and $30 (10K) for interested participants. Registration closes on Friday.

For more information, contact the Lakewood Ranch YMCA.

Dolphin Dash

Earlier this month, several good times were turned in at the annual Dolphin Dash 5K and 1-miler on Anna Maria Island.

The Bradenton Runners Club sanctioned race witnessed Geremy DeWitt clock in at 16 minutes, 22 seconds for the overall male title.

Dominique Kohlenberger captured the overall female crown with a time of 22:49.

Other male division winners include: John Skey (Masters, 21:36), John Maraia (Grand Masters, 19:23), Norman Cornwell (Senior Grand Masters, 22:23) and Jim Hicks (Veteran Grand Masters, 24:40).

Other female division winners include: Sandy Meneley (Masters, 24:21), Carol Berker (Grand Masters, 24:46), Arlene Jarzab (Senior Grand Masters, 26:57) and Erma McMulle (Veteran Grand Masters, 31:20).

Jason Dill, sports reporter, can be reached at 745-7017 or via email at Follow him on Twitter @Jason_Dill

Bradenton Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service